Tags

, , , ,

As my family prepares for our up coming trip, we have to keep in mind, what would a first timer want to do? No, we don’t have any new additions to our family however this is a first of this type of trip for my father.
Cue the background story. We became DVC members way back in 2004. About a week after all our documents were signed, we found out my wife was pregnant with our first child. With that joyous news came the realization that we would not be able to use our DVC membership the following summer as planned. That being said, we banked our first year’s points. Since we had an abundance of points we decided to invite our families. The trip consisted of 13 of us total from my wife’s family an mine. My father was one of those that went.
We all stayed at the Boardwalk for the trip. We all were not connected at the hip and had a reservation for all of us to have dinner at the beginning and end of the trip. For the most part the group stayed on Disney property and we met up with different people at different times. My step mother, who is not a Disney fan had planned a few off property excursions for her and my father. After the trip my father had told me that he wished he spent a little more time with us at the parks and felt that they shorted the Disney experience.
After a little bit of planning my father was able to join us for our August 2017 trip. Since he felt like he did not get the full experience his last trip, thirteen years ago, my wife and I talked, along with our kids what attractions and experiences epitomize a trip to Walt Disney World. With this in mind, we came up with a plan to explore some classics and to seek of new experiences to take my father on a trip he will never forget.
We asked the kids what we needed to do. Restaurant options were the first things discussed. Top of the list was 50’s Prime Time, which I totally agreed with the kids since I know my grandmother owned a few of the artifacts that are on display at the restaurant. After deciding food, we talked about attractions. Obviously there had to be classics like the Jungle Cruise and Big Thunder Mountain in the plan but we also had to add in Flight of Passage and the updated Soarin’, my father was on the original one and loved it. The resort was an obvious choice we had to pick Kidani to showcase our favorite resort for my father.
After all of our planning, we feel we put together a great plan in which the full Disney experience will be achieved. We are a few weeks out from the trip and will report how it all worked out when we are back.
What have you planned when taking a first timer/ minimal Disney experienced person on your trip. Leave a comment here, on Facebook at Disney Perspective or on twitter @disneyhelp all your feedback is greatly appreciated.

